Wheelock Place 501 Orchard Road #05-01 Singapore 238880 (Nuffield Dental Jewel)

Grief & Loss

Grief & Loss


Grief is a reaction to any form of loss. Grief is not limited to feelings of sadness. It can also involve guilt, yearning, anger, and regret. These emotions are often surprising in their strength or mildness and at the same time can also be confusing. One person may find themselves grieving a painful relationship. Another may mourn a loved one who had passed on and yet feel relief that the person is no longer suffering.  Everyone copes with grief in their own unique way, and there is no one way that is right.  Grief has a negative impact on your mental health when you find yourself grieving over an extended period of time. 


The process of grief include 5 stages of grief : 

  1. Denial: This is when you can’t accept what has happened. This is where you feel shocked, disbelief and numb that someone has passed away.
  2. Anger: This is the stage where you feel the need to blame the cause of the death of a loved one. You may feel resentful and want to blame anyone, even the person who passed away for leaving you.
  3. Bargaining: In this stage, you feel like you can reverse death by bargaining something in your life.
  4. Depression: This stage is where you have accepted the death and are in the devastation that this person has left.
  5. Acceptance: This is the last stage of the grieving process where you finally come to terms with the fact that the person who died is gone and you are ready to move on from this. 


While everyone’s way of grieving is not the same, it is essential to remember that during times like this, keeping your friends and family close will make the journey slightly more manageable.  


While we know it is a challenging time, we hope to support you with the process. Book an appointment with us At Nuffield Wellness to speak to our Counsellor today.

Book a Session

Book A Session